Nigerian Breweries-Felix Ohiwerei Education Trust Fund has revealed that 33 states across the federation are up in a battle for the maiden edition of the Maltina Teacher of the Year.
Aside Sokoto, Yobe, Zamfara and Nasarawa states, 33 states including the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja will be competing for the national prize aimed at restoring the dignity and pride of the teaching profession in Nigeria.
The Corporate Affairs Adviser of Nigerian Breweries Plc., Mr. Kufre Ekanem, disclosed this during the inaugural meeting of the Panel of Judges that would further scrutinise and examine entries for the on-going Maltina Teacher of the Year initiative.
According to him, the 33 states in contention for the national honours are states that still have valid entries competing for the project grand prize.
Ekanem explained that the project received thousands of entries from across the states of the federation. However, only a couple of hundreds of the entries were shortlisted and validated to compete for the initiative’s coveted prize by the stringent project assessors who trimmed the entries down after a thorough and painstaking examination.
The valid entries in contention are from the following states: Anambra, Enugu, AkwaIbom, Adamawa, Abia, Ekiti, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Taraba, Lagos, Kaduna, Kano, Edo, Bauchi, Katsina, Benue, Bayelsa and Borno. Others are: Niger, Kebbi, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Kwara, Ogun, Ondo, Plateau, Rivers, Oyo, Osun, Kogi and the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.
After scaling the project assessors’ hurdles, Ekanem informed that the valid entries will be subject to further scrutiny and thorough assessment process by the recently constituted Panel of Judges, who are charged with determining who becomes the Maltina Teacher of the Year on October 12, 2015 when the winners will be announced and celebrated at a grand event in Lagos.
Ekanem stated that members of the panel were assembled based on their individual pedigree, professionalism and dedication adding that the job of the panel is to examine and scrutinise the valid entries received from across the country to determine winners at the state levels (state champions).
The 10 best entries will thereafter be invited for the grand finale where the panel will further subject the 10 finalists to rigorous scrutiny in order to determine who truly should be named the Maltina Teacher of the Year.
He reiterated that the aim of the initiative is “to identify, showcase and reward exceptional teachers in order to encourage our teachers, restore the pride, dignity and respect of the profession and teachers.