The anti-pipeline vandalism unit of the Nigerian Police Force, yesterday, arraigned four men who allegedly kidnapped nine policemen on May 24, 2014 at Arepo area of Ogun State, before a Lagos Federal High Court.
The accused, who were arraigned on a 10-count charge of terrorism, include Sergeant Akowe Jacob, 41, 36-year-old Godwin German, Tamarami Tunwa, 23, and Mayibi Hazeez, 29.
Those allegedly kidnapped, according to the prosecutor, are; ASP Raymon Odion, Abdullahi Bature; Inspectors Raymond Oriere; Usman Muhammed; Oguntimehin Kolawole and Tijani Jimoh, Corporals Elogbamen Timothy; Yakubu Aliyu; Usman Abdulkareem and Dauda Mohammed.
The prosecutor informed the court that the accused persons kidnapped the victims at about 9am on that day, adding that the crime contravened Section 2(c) (ii) of the Terrorism Prevention Act.
Odion said the accused were liable to punishment under Section 33(1) (a) of the same Act, which prescribes a jail term of up to 20 years upon conviction.
However, after the charges were read to the accused, they all pleaded not guilty.
The prosecutor sought for an order to remand them in prison custody, as well as an adjournment for commencement of trial.
However, counsel to the accused, Chief S.W. Baidi, told the court that their bail application had been filed and urged the court to grant them bail in terms that would be convenient.
“My Lord, bail is a discretionary remedy, but the constitution allows the applicants the presumption of innocence until proven otherwise. My Lord, the offence that the defendants were charged with is bailable and which attracts not more than 20 years if convicted.’’
Consequently, Justice Muhammed Yunusa adjourned till September 15 to rule on the bail application.

READ ALSO  Buhari needs more rest, says Doctor