When the 8th National Assembly is inaugurated in June, 76 of the 109 Senators who served in the 7th Senate will not take their seats in the legislature. Reason: Some of them did not seek re-election, others lost out at the party primaries while others were defeated at the National Assembly elections on March 28, 2015.
Some of the Senators also nursed governorship ambitions and failed.
However, 33 of the serving Senators won elections in their constituencies.
In the South-West, for instance, only five of the 18 senators from the zone are returning to the red chamber.
They are Senators Gbenga Ashafa and Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos); Robert Boroffice (Ondo); and Babajide Omoworare and Olusola Adeyeye (Osun).
The Tsunami also affected the South-East zone as only six Senators, who include Eyinnaya Abaribe (Abia), Andy Uba (Anambra), Soni Ogbuoji (Ebonyi), Ike Ekweremadu, Gilbert Nnaji (Enugu) and Hope Uzodinma (Imo), made the list.
In the South-South, only Senators Emmanuel Paulker (Bayelsa) and James Manager (Delta) are returning to the Senate while in the North-Central, Senators Bukola Saraki and Sha’aba Lafiaji (Kwara); David Mark, George Akume and Barnabas Gemade (Benue); Abdullahi Adamu (Nasarawa) and Joshua Dariye (Plateau) won the polls and will make the 8th Senate.
In the North-East, Senators Ahmed Zannah (Borno); Danjuma Goje and Joshua Lidani (Gombe); Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba); Bukhar Ibrahim and Ahmad Lawan (Yobe); and Kabiru Marafa and Ahmad Sani (Zamfara) were returned by their constituents.
Those who made it in the North-West are Senators Kabiru Gaya (Kano) and Ibrahim Abu (Katsina).
Meanwhile, the incoming lawmakers who will constitute the 8th Senate include 60 All Progressives Congress, APC, and 49 Peoples Democratic Party, PDP members.
The breakdown of the 60 seats won in the Senate by the APC shows that the party cleared 20 of the available 21 senatorial seats in the North-West, comprising Sokoto, Kano, Jigawa, Zamfara, Kebbi, Kaduna and Katsina states.
It clinched 12 of the 18 senatorial seats in the North-Eastern states of Borno, Yobe, Adamawa, Bauchi and Gombe.
The party also delivered 13 of the 18 senatorial seats in the North Central states of Kwara, Kogi, Niger, Nasarawa, Benue and Plateau.
Others are 13 of the 18 senatorial seats in the South-Western states of Lagos, Ogun, Oyo, Osun, Ondo and Ekiti, in addition to the only one seat it won in the entire South-South geo-political zone from Edo North.
However, the entire 15 senatorial seats in the South-East, comprising Ebonyi, Enugu, Abia, Anambra and Imo states, form the bulk of the 49 seats won by the PDP.
These are 17 seats from the South-South; five from the South-West; five from the North-Central; three from the North-East and one from the North-West.
N/Central APC insists on Senate presidency
Meanwhile, leaders of the APC in the North-Central zone have demanded that the position of the Senate President be retained for the zone in the next political dispensation.
Rising from a meeting in Abuja, the leaders argued that the zone deserved the position of Senate President to compensate it for the massive support it gave the party during the last general elections.
In a communiqué issued at the end of the meeting, the zone said that it deserved to be rewarded for its unwavering support for the APC without which the party would not have emerged victorious in the last presidential election.
The leaders said: “Our resolution is borne out of the fact that by every consideration, North-Central zone deserves to produce the next Senate President”.
The communiqué was signed by the APC North-Central Zonal Chairman, Mr. Zakari Ede; Chairman of APC in Kwara State, Hon. Ishola Fulanil; Nasarawa APC Chairman, Mr. Philips Tatari; Plateau APC Chairman, Mr. Latep Daban; Benue APC Chairman, Mr. Abba Yaro; Kogi APC Chairman, Alhaji Hardy Ametuo; Federal Capital Territory APC Chairman, Abdulmalik Usman and Niger State APC Chairman, Mr. M.J. Imam.
It reads: “It must be noted that since 1999, the north central zone even under Peoples Democratic Party has been taken third position and with our recent performance, we equally believe that the zone should have the same third position.
“We also like to put on record that the north central states delivered five governors as we won all our governorship elections, delivered thirteen senators and other National Assembly members including the members of states’ houses of assembly to APC as against the norm.
“It will be unfair to be treated otherwise after these performances. If the zone has performed and delivered under the APC, we believe we should be adequately rewarded as was done under PDP”.
The zone backed up its claim to retain the Senate presidency with a threat saying, “We need to emphasise here that north central is a vulnerable zone and our success and victory should not be taken for granted.”

READ ALSO  Biafra: Court shifts ruling on motion to quash charges against Kanu, others till March 1