It was embarrassment galore at the headquarters of Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Umuahia yesterday as the Certificate of Return for Umuahia South State Assembly bore the name or the loser instead of the winner, Chijioke Nwachukwu of the All Progressives Grand Alliace, APGA.
Nigerian Pilot gathered that the certificate of return issued from Abuja bore the name of Jerry Uzosike of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP instead of Chijioke Nwachukwu of APGA who was declared winner by INEC in Umuahia.
The Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC, Abia State, Prof. Selinah Oko in her explanation said that while the original result sheet (EC81) and the list they compiled bore the name of the winner, one of the certificates that arrives from Abuja the previous evening did not bear the name of the winner.
Oko, who absolved INEC Abia State of complicity but blamed it on typographical error, said that APGA had blamed INEC of complicity in the incident.
Nigerian Pilot also reports that the certificate of return of Isiala Ngwa South was affected because of the fire that gutted INEC office in the local government area.
The REC said that they have notified INEC Abuja of the mistake and that when the certificates are ready, the owners will be informed to come and collect them.
22 House- member elects have collected their certificates of return. They are; Emeka Nnamani ( Aba North), Emmanuel Clinton Ebere (Aba South), Abraham U Oba ( Aba Central), Luke Onyeani Ukara ( Arochukwu), Cosmas Ndukwe ( Bende North), Okagbuo Chibuzo Solomon (Bende South), Ugboaja Theophilus ( Ikwuano), Martins Azubuike ( Isiala North), Uloma Onuoha ( Isuikwuato), Solomon Akpulonu ( Obingwa East), Thomas Nkoro ( Obingwa West), Egwunwu Obasi ( Ohafia North), Uchendu Ifeanyi ( Ohafia South), Kennedy Azubuike Njoku (Osisioma North), and Emeka Alozie (Osisioma South).
Others are Munachim Alozie (Ugwunagbo), Paul Taribo ( Ukwa East), Chinedum Orji ( Umuahia Central), Apugo Chukwudi ( Umuahia East), Kelechi Onuzuruike ( Umuahia North), Prince Ikedi Ezekwesiri.
Out of the 24 seats, PDP won 13 while APGA won 11.

READ ALSO  Re-arrest of Nnamdi KANU will not stem Biafra agitation - IPOB