The Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN) has invited 50 athletes to camp for training, ahead of this year’s ALL Africa Games in Congo Republic.
In a statement signed by AFN technical director, Omatseye Nesiama, the athletes’ camp officially opens at the AFN High Performance Centre University of Port Harcourt this week.
All selected athletes are to contact the AFN Secretary General, Olumide Bamiduro for necessary details about the camping programme.
Nesiama said substitutions would be made to both athletes and coaches dependent on performances posted at the remaining competitions leading up to the National trials.
He also revealed that a consortium of coaches have also been invited to manage the camp in the interim before a formal coaches interview/selection exercise that would take place by the end of the national trials.
The athletes invited athletes include Igbinosun Isoken, Ezealah Nkem, Imhoaperamhe Nicholas, Odele Tega Peter, Cecilia Francis, Oduduru Divine, Adeloye Oluwatosin, Ossai Rita Vivian, Orukpe Erayokan, Ogunmola Tobi and Nathaniel Samson Oghenewegba.
Others are Ayemoba Grace, Francis Ruth Oluwakemi, Oshinbanjo Temidayo, Martins Ogierakhi, Okon Samuel Etim , Abdullahi Bashiru, Ossai Rita , Akpofa Faith Daisy, Okorie Henry Akindunjoye Johnson and Emoghene Timothy.
Also in the 50 man list are Nwoye Augustine, Anigbata Grace, Obiora Arinze, Okpara Theddus, Nwanaga Kelechi, Kure Samuel Adams, Ezeofor Kenechukwu, Oladimeji Oluwatoyin, Okulaja Babajide, Anota John Oluwashola and Euphemia Edem.
The list also has Chinazom Amadi, Brume Ese, Uju Anoliefo, Eucharia Ogbukwo, Eke Onwuka Kalu, Olajide Abiola, Chibunna Chido, Ibrahim Blessing Ibukun, Hope Idhe, Henshaw Queen, Oguh Faustina, Elegbede Bamidele, Adeyemi Kazeem, Abike Egbeniyi, Hamadjam Soudi and Ismaila Sadjo.
Also on Wednesday, the AFN name a seven man organizing committee for this year’s All Nigeria Athletics Championship, which will serve as trials for the Beijing 2015 IAAF World Championships and All Africa Games.
AFN vice-president, Tunde Abdulkareem is chairman of the committee, while members are Olukayode Thomas, Nesiama Omatseye, Gloria Chukwukere, Kenneth Anugweje, Falilat Ogunkoya, and Bamiduro Olumide who will serve as secretary.
AFN president, Dr (Evangelist) Solomon Ogba appealed to the committee members to work hard to ensure a successful championship, sponsored by Cross River State government.

READ ALSO  Eagles duo seek Sunshine switch