It was a night of African music, culture, entertainment, fashion at the Eko Hotel and Suites in Lagos during the All Africa Music Awards, AFRIMA in partnership with the African Union.
However, this year’s award ceremony was full of surprises and emotions. Some of the big winners who went home with the priceless 23.9 Karat gold plated AFRIMA trophy are Charlotte Dipanda from Cameroon who went home with 3 awards; Album of the Year, Best Female in Central Africa, and Best Artiste in African Contemporary.
On the other hand, Diamond Platnumz from Tanzania also won Artiste of the Year, Song of the Year, and Best Male Artiste in Eastern Africa, Cassper Nyovest from South Africa, has in his kit two awards; Best Male Artiste in Southern Africa and Best Artiste in African Hip Hop While Kenya group singers, Souti Sol got Best African Group/Duo/Band and producer of the Year.
Other artistes who recorded their names on the award winners’ list are as follows; Vanessa Mdee from Tanzania, Yemi Alade of Nigeria, AKA of South Africa, Stanley Enow, Cameroun, Flavour also from Nigeria, Tsedenia from Ethiopia, Darey of Nigeia, M’vula from Angola, Olamide, Nigeria, Wiyaala Ghana, Adekunle Gold, Nigeria, Kiss Daniel, Nigeria, Jose Chameleone from Uganda, Praiz also from Nigeria among others.
High point of the award ceremony was the honour bestowed on the former Governor of Lagos State, Sen. Bola Ahmed Tinubu as Africa Pillar of Arts and Culture as well as AFRIMA legendary award that was given to the Ladysmith Black Mambazo for staying strong after five decades.

READ ALSO  Reminisce, Vector to headline Bash’s concert