Speaker, Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly, Mr. Onofiok Luke, yesterday at plenary, swore-in four new lawmakers.
Luke, while administering the oath of office and oath of allegiance on the four members, urged them to bring the dividends of democracy to Akwa Ibom people.
He thanked God who gave them victory during the rerun elections held on March 12, adding that their victory showed that they were accepted by their constituents.
The Appeal Court sitting in Abuja had on December 2015 annulled the elections of Mr Aniekan Uko-(PDP) representing Ibesikpo Asutan who was the speaker then.
Others whose elections were nullified included, Mr Idongesit Ntekpre-(PDP) Ikot Ekpene Obot Akara, Mr Effiong Bassey-(PDP) Oron/Udung Uko and Aniefiok Dennis-(PDP) representing Etinan state constituency.
They all won the rerun election in their respective constituencies held on March 12.
The House at plenary received a motion from Mr Ime Okon-(PDP) representing Ibiono Ibom state constituency for a holistic review of existing clans in Akwa Ibom State.
In the motion, Okon decried the injustice in the creation of three additional clans in Onna, Essien Udim and Uruan by Governor Udom Emmanuel which took effect from March 26.
He stated that Akwa Ibom has 2,664 recognised villages for statutory functions, out of which Ibiono Ibom alone has 221 that are neglected.
The lawmaker called on the governor to take holistic review of the existing clans in order to assuage the injustice.
The motion which received the support of all members was referred to the next sitting to enable them make in-depth contributions.

READ ALSO  Auto mechanic bags 5 months for stealing woman’s handbag, N198, 000 valuables