The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the Governor of Ogun, Sen. Ibikunle Amosun, winner of the Saturday’s governorship election in the state.

Prof. Duro Oni, the Deputy Vice-Chncellor, University of Lagos, who is the state Returning Officer for the election, made the declaration on Sunday in Abeokuta.

Amosun who contested the election on the platform of the All Progressive Congress (APC), beat Mr Gboyega Isiaka of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the second position.

According to the returning officer, Amosun won in 11 out of the 20 local government areas in the state.

He said that the governor polled a total of 306,988 votes of the total 578, 378 votes cast in the election in which 16 political parties contested.

Oni explained that 599, 486 voters were accredited out of the total 1,759,754 registered voters in the state, adding that 22, 948 votes were voided out of the total 578,378 votes cast.

The returning officer said that elections were cancelled for various reasons in nine polling centres at Odeda, Sagamu and Ogun, all waterside local governments areas of the state.

Oni, however, said that the 2,343 votes from the centres where the elections were cancelled did not affect the result of the election. (NAN)

Ad Are you a One Minute Man? This Nafdac Approved Solution Would Help you Last 30mins+ with no side effects" Visit: