The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the presidential and National Assembly election in Yobe state North East Nigeria.
Announcing the results at the INEC headquarters in Damaturu the Yobe state capital, the presidential collation officer for the election in the state Prof Ibrahim Njodi who is also the Vice Chancellor University of Maiduguri said APC polled a total of 446,265 votes while the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) scored 25, 526 votes.
He also revealed that registered votes for the election was 1, 77, 942 as the valid votes were 473, 796 as against 16, 783 invalid.
The returning officer also said total votes cast at the presidential election were 490.079 votes.
Meanwhile the Resident Election Commissioner (REC) in the state, Mr Habu Zarma has told journalists in state that the People Democratic Party (PDP) has won the senatorial election in the Yobe South Senatorial district as well as the Potiskum Nangere federal constituency.
According to him, PDP also won the House of Representatives seats for the Damaturu, Gujba, Gulani federal constituency and Tarmuwa as well as that of the Bursari, Geidam and Yunusari federal constituencies.
The returning officer for the Yobe east senatorial zone of the state Prof Yakubu Muktar while announcing the senatorial results said the APC won the senatorial election in Yobe East Senatorial zone with Sen Bukar Abba Ibrahim, the 10 years former Governor of Yobe State defeated his PDP counterpart Abba Gana Tata with a total of 87, 890 votes as against 27, and 846 votes.