PDP 49:
APC 60

The Opposition, All Progressives Congress, APC, has won the majority seat in the Nigerian Senate, following the 2015 national election.
Statistics indicate that the All Progressives Congress, APC won 60 senatorial seats while the ruling People’s Democratic party, PDP secured 49 seats in the 109-man Senate.
A breakdown of the winnings show that the Peoples Democratic party, PDP won five senatorial seats in the South West, comprising Lagos state, Ondo, Ogun, Ekiti, Oyo and Osun state; 15 in the South East, made up of Enugu state, Abia, Anambra, Imo and Ebonyi state; 15 in the South-South which is made up of Akwa Ibom state, Edo, Cross River, Bayelsa, Delta and Rivers state.
Other Senatorial Seats won by the PDP were five from the North central, made up of Kwara state, Niger, Benue, Nasarawa and Plateau; and then one seat from the North west.
The All Progressives Congress, APC, won in virtually all the Northern states including one seat from Edo North in the South-South of the country.
In the North East, the APC secured Senatorial Seats in all the six states in the zone, winning one seat in Taraba state and two in Gombe state.
The party also swept the entire North western states where they yielded only one seat to the Southern Kaduna senatorial district.
The result also shows that the only senatorial seat for the country’s capital territory, Abuja went to the ruling Peoples Democratic party, PDP.
By the results, the opposition All Progressives Congress, APC has won a simple majority of 60 seats in the Senate, while the ruling People’s Democratic party, PDP won 49 seats.
Therefore, the All Progressives Congress, APC will form the majority in the Senate when the 8th National Assembly is inaugurated on the 7th of June this year.

READ ALSO  Katsina Govt moves to demolish illegal structures