The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) in Kano state has declared Alhaji Tasi’u Ibrahim of the All Progressives Congress as the winner of the state House of Assembly bye-election in Minjibir.

READ ALSO  Misau poised for war with IGP Idris in court

Announcing the result in Minjibir, the returning Officer, Prof Abu Mohammed, said the APC candidate, emerged winner by scoring 21, 970 votes to defeat the 14 other contestants.

READ ALSO  Crisis: Senate seeks evacuation of Nigerians in South Sudan

According to him, Alhaji Auwalu Ubale of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) came second with 1, 238 votes.

He commended political party leaders and the candidates for their cooperation and understanding throughout the election period.

READ ALSO  FG to identify new ways of fostering unity – Lai Moh’d

He also commended security personnel deployed to the area to maintain peace for their efforts toward ensuring peace.