Set to refund N1trn to FG
5 Israelis to testify

arms-dealThe arms purchase probe panel
that was set up by President
Muhammadu Buhari to probe
contracts executed during the
administrations of late President
Umaru Musa Yar’Adua to former
President Goodluck Jonathan, has
started sitting with not less than 13
allegedly indicted retired generals
opting for plea bargain.
A highly placed defence source
at the weekend told Nigerian Pilot
Sunday that the retired generals
numbering 13 out of the 19 that
are expected to be quizzed by
the probe panel have already
approach some members of the
panel for amicable settlement of
the matter than appearing before
the panel.
According to the source, a
former National Security Adviser
is allegedly the arrowhead of the
negotiation, if the members of the
panel will accept their request.
The security source further
added that the 13 retired military
chiefs are willing to refund N1
trillion to the federal government
as part of the plea bargain
The source added that the
chairman of the probe panel is yet
to take a decision on the proposal
given to him by the affected
indicted generals.
Not fewer than 19 former
military chiefs are to be quizzed
by the panel. They are five Chiefs
of Defence Staff, 14 Service Chiefs;
four National Security Advisers,
NSAs and eight former Ministers
of Defence.
The probe has created panic
among retired military chiefs who
coordinated arms purchases in the
last eight years.
Nigerian Pilot Sunday learnt
that five Israelis, who played
major roles in arms procurement
for the military, in the last six
years, are to be invited by the
committee, whose members were
named on Monday after President
Muhammadu Buhari’s directive.
The Israelis reportedly left the
country on the eve of the general
elections, but will be summoned
by the probe panel to appear
before it.
The government has directed
that tight security be provided for
members of the panel.
The assignment is
comprehensive. It will run
through many administrations.
The source further added, “The
probe will require looking into the
administrations of five Chiefs of
Defence Staff, 14 Service Chiefs;
four National Security Advisers
and eight former ministers. It is a
Herculean task.
“Already, there is panic in the
circle of retired military officers
on the intent of the evaluation
of arms purchase. Some of these
former military chiefs have
reached out to panel members to
allow them have access to relevant
The source gave insight into
why it is necessary to invite the
former CDS, Service Chiefs,
NSAs and ex-ministers. “All arms
deals were not subjected to the
nation’s procurement laws even
though the late President Umaru
Yar’Adua specifically said there
should be no due process waiver
for the military.
Nigerian Pilot Sunday gathered
that the panel might look into the
administration of five Chiefs of
Defence Staff, 14 Service Chiefs;
four National Security Advisers
and eight former Ministers of
The Chiefs of Defence Staff
from 2007 to 2015 are: the late
Lt.-Gen. Owoye Andrew Azazi
(2007-2008); Air Chief Marshal
Paul Dike (2008-2010); Air Chief
Marshal Oluseyi Petinrin (2010-
2012); Admiral Ola Ibrahim (2012-
2014); and Air Chief Marshal Alex
Badeh (2014-2015).
As for the Nigerian Army, those
to be under searchlight are late Lt.-
Gen. Luka Yusuf (2007-2008), Lt.-
Gen. Abdurrahman Dambazzau
(2008-2010), Lt.-Gen. Azubuike
Ihejirika (2010-2014) and Lt.-Gen.
Kenneth Minimah (January 2014-
July 2015).
In the Nigerian Navy, the
investigation will cover the
following past Chiefs of Naval
Staff: Vice Admiral GT Adekeye
(2005-2008); Vice Admiral II
Ibrahim (2008-2010); Vice Admiral
OS Ibrahim (2010-2012); Vice
Admiral DJ Ezeoba (2012-2013)
and Vice Admiral UO Jibrin (2013-
For the Air Force, the scope of
the probe will affect the tenures
of the following officers and
their teams. They include Air
Marshal Paul Dike (2006-2008);
Air Marshal Oluseyi Petirin (2008-
2010); Air Marshal Mohammed
Dikko Umar (2010-2012); Air
Marshal Alex Badeh (2012-2014)
and Air Marshal Adesola Amosu
The National Security Advisers
from 2007 to 2014 are: Gen. Aliyu
Gusau; the late Gen. Owoye
Azazi; Gen. Sarki Mukhtar; and
Col. Sambo Dasuki.
The Ministers of Defence
within the timeframe of the
panel are: Yayale Ahmed (2007-
2008); Shettima Mustapha (2098-
2009); Godwin Abbe (2009-2010);
Adetokunbo Kayode (2010-2011);
Bello Haliru Mohammed (2011-
2012); Erelu Olusola Obada (2012-
2013) ; Gen. Aliyu Gusau (2013-
2015) and Musiliu Obanikoro