Akwa Ibom House of Assembly on Thursday dissolved the 31 local government councils, following the expiration of their three year tenure.
The council chairmen have also been directed to handover all government property and documents in their possession to their respective Council Head of Service by today.
House Speaker, Mr. Aniekan Uko, said in line with the 1999 Constitution, as amended, the tenure of the present local government chairmen would expire by 12 midnight on July 10, disclosing that the local government councils were inaugurated on July 11, 2012 with three years life span.
He also directed the Clerk of the House, Mrs. Mandu Umoren, to communicate the decision of the House to Governor Udom Emmanuel for necessary action.
Earlier, the Leader of the House, Mr. Udo Kerien, representing Oruk Anam state constituency had moved a motion for the dissolution of the local government councils and was seconded by Mr. Usoro Akpausoh, member representing Esit Eket/Ibeno state constituency.
The House also received notice on a Motion on the establishment of Nuclear Plant in Akwa Ibom sponsored by Mr. Nse Essien of ONNA state constituency.
The motion urged the Assembly to pass a resolution directing the National Atomic Energy Commission and indeed Federal Government to reconsider its desire to build nuclear plants in the state because of its dense population.
The motion also urged the federal government to explore other available and harmless sources of power in the state, including increasing the capacity of Ibom Power Plant.
House Speaker, Mr. Aniekan Ukoh referred the motion to the Committee on Environment for in-depth study and to report back to the House within one week.

READ ALSO  Man with hunchback murdered in Edo