Former Kogi State Governor, Prince Abubakar Audu has emerged All Progressives Congress, APC standard bearer for the November 21 governorship election in the state.
In a keenly contested APC party primary election at the newly constructed Confluence Station, Lokoja yesterday, Prince Audu polled 1,109 votes to beat the rest of the 26 candidates who struggled for the ticket with him
According to Nasir Ahmed El-Rufai, the governor of Kaduna state who was the chairman of the 7-man electoral panel, the party primary election was transparent and in tandem with the APC principles and guidelines.
“The process went very well; and it was transparent enough, as we observed all the processes according to the tradition and law of the party. And by the power vested in me, I hereby declare Prince Abubakar Audu who polled the highest votes among the 26 contestants as the winner of this election”, he said.
He advised the losers in the election to imbibe the spirit of sportsmanship and join the winner for the party to shine at the polls in the forthcoming governorship election, adding that the mission of the party is to form the next government in the state.
Prince Audu, who was in high spirit following the victory said there are “no winners, no losers”, stressing that the outcome of the party primary election was a victory for all the contestants, delegates and APC.
He promised to liaise with all in the effort of the party to clinch victory at the polls and govern the state, saying, “being a Methuselah may not make one the wisest person.”
He added that the party needed the necessary inputs from members, particularly his colleagues who contested the party primaries with him, in order to unseat the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP government in the state.
One of the aspirants, Yahaya Bello, who spoke on behalf of other aspirants, posited that since the party is a family to all, they will join hands together to ensure victory of the party at the polls.
In the final result released by the El-Rufai led 7-man committee which has Senator Magnus Abbey as secretary, Yahaya Bello, polled 703, Senator Nicholas Ugbane, Nurudeen Abatemi and Senator Ale kadiri scored, 8; 400; and 1 respectively.
Also, veteran journalists: Yakubu Mohammed, former CEO of Newswatch Communications, and Adinoyi Ojo Onukaba, former Managing Director of Daily Times, scored 0 and 2 votes respectively.
According to the electoral panel, a total number of 3,044 delegates were accredited for the election and 29 votes were voided.

READ ALSO  Ogbulafor calls for resignation of PDP NWC members