PEOPLES’ Democratic Party, PDP, Bayelsa State chairman Hon. Moses Cleopas at the weekend inaugurated a 10-member Contact and Mobilization Committee, with a mandate to reach out to its former members, who have been making moves to return to the party. Hon. Cleopas, who gave the committee a 5-point terms of reference at the party’s secretariat in Yenagoa, urged the committee to make appropriate recommendations to the State PDP Executive Council, where the need arises, for further consultations and
consideration. The committee, which is headed by the Special Adviser to the Governor on Political Matters, Chief Fyneman Wilson is also expected to make recommendation as to when such former members should be officially re-admitted back into the PDP fold. Hon. Cleopas, who urged the committee to submit its report within 3 weeks, expressed confidence in its ability to deliver on the assignment. He pointed out that, the move was necessitated by the growing desire and increasing moves by its former members to return to the party, ahead of the 2019 and 2020 elections. The PDP chairman explained that, decision to set up the committee was taken after a wide consultations by the leadership of the party, with other major stakeholders, stressing that, it is also intended to improve the fortunes of the party, ahead of the 2019 elections. In his remarks, the Bayelsa State Governor and leader of the party in the State, Hon. Seriake Dickson charged members of the committee to mop up all the opposition parties in the state as the PDP’s umbrella was big enough to accommodate them. Governor Dickson said the party will hold an expanded caucus meeting to brainstorm on ways to further strengthen it, assuring that, the party remains united and strong to achieve success in the coming elections. He also used the occasion to announce that, the restoration team would embark on a ‘Thank You’ tour of the state, as part of efforts to consolidate on the gains already recorded in the party as well as appreciate the people for their massive support during last governorship election in the State. The Contact and Mobilization Committee has as its Vice Chairman, Chief Ipigansi Izagara, while Chief Ben Iyororokuma is the secretary. Other members are, Mrs. Marie Ebikake, Hon. Stephen Diver, Mr. Lawrence Clever, Hon. Mike Ogbolosingha, Mr. Karika Hanson Alabo, Chief Saviour Ibegi and Hon. Iselemo Gbaranbiri. High point of the inauguration ceremony was the presentation of the InterParty Advisory Council of Nigeria Award of Excellence to Governor Dickson by the Secretary of the committee, Chief Ben Iyororokumo for his outstanding achievements in governance.

READ ALSO  Anichebe, Ideye up for sale - WBA