Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria, JUSUN, yesterday said that courts in 15 states of the federation will remain shut until it gets the commitment of the government of the affected states to guarantee the financial autonomy of the judiciary.
JUSUN embarked on a nationwide strike on January 5, 2015, but the industrial action had been suspended in federal courts and in states where their governments had given commitment to meet the union’s demand.
A statement by the President of the union, Mr. Marwan Adamu, said the states where the judiciary workers’ strike is in its fourth month are Ekiti, Kaduna, Yobe, Taraba, Adamawa, Nasarawa and Plateau states.
Others are Benue, Anambra, Abia, Enugu, Osun, Ondo, Edo and Cross River States.
The statement read in part, “The Judiciary Staff Union of Nigeria has said it is committed to ensuring the full autonomy of the Judiciary sector in all the states of the Federation.
“The Union wishes to state that the ongoing strike in 15 states will be sustained until proper things are done by the affected governors.”
Adamu also urged the public to disregard “mischief-makers who are spreading rumors of fresh strike by the union.”
He said the strike would have been suspended if those state governors had done the needful “to save the sector from further ridicule by enemies of democracy.”