Minister of Youth and Sports Development, Barr Solomon Dalung yesterday inaugurated a 15-man Main Organising Committee, MOC with Permanent Secretary Chinyeaka Ohaa as the chairman.
Other members of the committee include Deputy Governor of Cross River state Prof Ivara Ejemot Esu as Vice chairman, Commissioner of Sports in Cross River, Asu Okang, President Nigeria Olympics Committee, Engr. Habu Gumel, Director Grassroots Sports Development, Dr Ademola Are, President Nigeria Paralympics Committee Monday Emoghavwe among others.
Inaugurating the committee at the Minister’s conference room, Dalung who made it clear that nothing would trigger another postponement of the festival after it suffered similar fate years ago assured of government’s determination to use the sports competition to churn out future talents.
He further remarked; “this event is a landmark one in the actualization of the objectives of the National Sports Festival, chieftly amongst which is the promotion of keen and healthy competition amongst the competitors under an atmosphere of sportsmanship and friendly interaction with a view to enhancing and strengthening national unity.
“…in its drive to ensure that the festival hold this year, the federal Ministry of Youth and Sports in collaboration with the Cross River state government hosted an extra ordinary National Council on sports during which a new date of November 8 to 21, 2016 was fixed for the festival by all stakeholders.”