The 2016 Australian Open will be a tennis tournament that takes place at Melbourne Park between 18 to 31 January 2016. It will be the 104th edition of the Australian Open, and the first Grand Slam tournament of the year. The tournament will consist of events for professional players in singles, doubles and mixed doubles play. Junior and wheelchair players competed in singles and doubles tournaments.
The 2016 Australian Open will be the 104th edition of the tournament and will be held at Melbourne Park in Melbourne,Victoria, Australia.
The tournament will be run by the International Tennis Federation, ITF and is part of the 2016 ATP World Tour and the 2016 WTA Tour calendars under the Grand Slam category. The tournament consists of both men’s and women’s singles and doubles draws as well as a mixed doubles event. There are singles and doubles events for both boys and girls players in the under 18 category, which is part of the Grade A category of tournaments, and also singles, doubles and quad events for men’s and women’s wheelchair tennis players as part of the NEC tour under the Grand Slam category.
The tournament will be played on hard courts and take place over a series of 16 courts, including the three main show courts: Rod Laver Arena, Hisense Arena and Margaret Court Arena.
This tennis tournament, the first of the “Grand Slam” events, is quite possibly the biggest and best tennis tournament of the year. Staged each year in January in Melbourne, Australia, the Australian Open attracts the biggest tennis fans from across the world along with star tennis players from across the continent.
First round play at the 2016 Australian Open begins Monday January 18, 2016. The women’s final is scheduled for Saturday, January 30, while the men will play for the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup on Sunday, January 31.
On the men’s side, Novak Djokovic will be defending his title, which is something he will be doing a lot of in 2016 after enjoying one of the most successful years in history in 2015. Last year, he defeated Andy Murray in four sets in the final at Rod Laver Arena:
For the women, Serena Williams will seek an astounding seventh title in Australia. She dominated last year, losing just two sets in the entire tournament and zero from the quarterfinals onward. She beat Maria Sharapova in the final, 6-3, 7-6(5).
Australian Open organisers say the world’s top 99 men and 99 of the top 100 women will descend on Melbourne Park for the 2016 grand slam tournament.
World No.1 Serena Williams of the United States and Novak Djokovic of Serbia will lead the all-star line-up, with retiring No.8 Flavia Pennetta of Italy the only name missing from the women’s top 100 and Israel’s No.100 Dudi Sela just missing the men’s direct entry cut-off.

READ ALSO  ‘Super Eagles manager not angry with Moses’

* 1. Novak Djokovic (SRB)
* 2. Andy Murray (GBR)
* 3. Roger Federer (SUI)
* 4. Stan Wawrinka (SUI)
* 5. Rafael Nadal (ESP)
* 6. Tomas Berdych (CZE)
* 7. David Ferrer (ESP)
* 8. Kei Nishikori (JPN)
* 9. Richard Gasquet (FRA)
* 10. Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (FRA)
Australian players of note:
* 18. Bernard Tomic
* 30. Nick Kyrgios
* 60. Sam Groth
* 80. Thanasi Kokkinakis

READ ALSO  Flying Eagles jets into Calabar ahead Burundi clash

* 1. Serena Williams (USA)
* 2. Simona Halep (ROU)
* 3. Garbine Muguruza (ESP)
* 4. Maria Sharapova (RUS)
* 5. Agnieszka Radwanska (POL)
* 6. Petra Kvitova (CZE)
* 7. Venus Williams (USA)
* 8. Flavia Pennetta (retired)
* 9. Lucie Safarova (CZE)
* 10. Angelique Kerber (GER)
* 11. Karolina Pliskova (CZE)
Australian players of note:
* 27. Samantha Stosur

READ ALSO  Battle for supremacy as women’s league resumes