Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Mahmud Mohammed yesterday told the 30 newly appointed judges of the federal high court not to allow themselves to be used by politicians and destroy their carrier.
Justice Mahmud made this declaration yesterday at the supreme court during the swearing in of 30 justices of the federal high court in Abuja.
He said that allegations about corrupt judicial officers and staff now make headline news on a more frequent basis that is tarnishing the image of the judiciary everyday.
The CJN said that the reality is that some judges and judicial staffs may be complicit in corrupt practices, but however, corruption in the judiciary is only imbibed by a minute minority.
“ I believe that Nigerian judiciary is comprised largely of judicial officers who are hardworking, dedicated, ethically minded, learned, patriotic and possess the highest standards of morals”
The CJN further warned the newly appointed Justices that the National Judicial Council, NJC, under his watch will not tolerate any act of corruption and any form of indiscipline from the bench.
President Muhammadu Buhari had last week approved the appointment of thirty new Judges for the Federal High Court following the recommendation of the National Judicial Council, NJC.
They are:
Hon. Justice Yellin S. Bogoro – Bauchi State;
Rosemary O. Dugbo Oghoghorie – Delta State;
Taiwo Obayomi Taiwo – Ogun State;
Ibrahim Watila – Borno State;
Mallong Peter Hoommuk – Plateau State;
Isa Hamma Adama Dashen – Adamawa State;
Hassan Dikko – Kebbi State;
Jude Kanyioh Dagat – Kaduna State;
Olayinka Olusegun Tokode – Osun State;
Simon Akpah Amobeda, – Kogi State;
Jane Egienanwan Inyang – Cross River State;
Daniel Emeka Osiagor – Rivers State;
Prof. Chuka Austine Obiozor – Anambra State;
Iniekenimi Nicholas Oweib – Bayelsa State;
Hassan Muslim Sule – Zamfara State;
Hadiza Rabiu Shagari – Sokoto State;
Saleh Kogo Idrissa – Yobe State;
Joyce Obehi Abdulmalik – Edo State;
Hillary Ide Osho Oshomah – Edo State;
Fadima Murtala Aminu – Adamawa State;
Toyin Bolaji Adegoke – Kwara State;
James Kolawole Omotosho – Ogun State;
Nehizena Idemudia Ekunwe – Edo State;
Stephen Daylop Pam – Plateau State;
Akintayo Aluko – Ekiti State;
Dr. Nnamdi O. Dimgba – Abia State;
Emeka Nwite – Ebonyi State;
Abdulazeez M.Z. Anka – Zamfara State;
Abdu Dogo – FCT; and
Adamu Turaki Muhammed – Jigawa State.
They were yesterday sworn-in by the Honourable, the Chief Justice of Nigeria and Chairman of the National Judicial Council, Justice Mahmud Mohammed, at about 10.00 a.m at the supreme court complex in Abuja.

READ ALSO  Electricity Tariff: Court dismisses NERC appeal