Four ECOMOG Field Commanders, two Nigerian journalists will receive posthumous awards at the public presentation of a book, titled: The ECOMOG STORY, in Abuja on March 17.

A statement issued in Abuja on Friday by Mr Frank Akinola on behalf of the organisers of the event, said the recipients would be honoured for their sacrifices in the Liberian civil war.

Akinola named the recipients as the late Majors-General, Ishaya Bakut, Rufus Kupolati, John Inienger and Maxwel Khobe.

According to the statement, the two journalists are Krees Imodibie of the Guardian Newspaper and Tayo Awotusin of the Champion Newspaper.

READ ALSO  *Edo Govt. to move against human trafficking cartel - Obaseki

“The book launch will feature posthumous award to four ECOMOG field commanders whose gallantry and professionalism were chronicled in the book.

“Two Nigerian journalists who lost their lives in the Liberian civil war and to whom a complete chapter was devoted in the book will also be honoured posthumously.

“The public presentation of the book will take place at the Nigerian National Merit Award House on March 17’’, the statement said.

He said the field commanders would be honoured with the award of Grand Commander of International Peace (Africa).

READ ALSO  Court reverses decision, accepts masked witnesses in Kanu's trial

Akinola added that the two slain journalists would receive the award of Grand Master of International Peace (Africa) for their bravery and contribution to journalism.

It said that the organisers had also named Lt.-Gen. Arnold Quianoo of Ghana, Maj.-Gen. John Shagaya and Maj.-Gen. Timothy Shelpidi as other former field commanders to be given award at the event.

Akinola added that Maj.-Gen. Felix Mujakperou, Gen. Martin Agwai and Lt.-Gen. Victor Malu would be honoured at the event.

READ ALSO  Adeleke: Senate adjourns for valedictory Wednesday

He said other field commanders whose tenures during the ECOMOG operations were covered in the book would also be recognised by the organisers.

He said the Minister of Defence, retired Brig.-Gen. Mansur Dan-Ali, would grace the occasion as Chief host while the Chairman, House of Representatives Committee on Defence, Rep. Betara Aliyu, would be the Chairman.

The organisers said former President, Olusegun Obasanjo would be Special Guest of Honour while Gen. Theophilus Danjuma would be the Chief launcher.