Mr Godwin Obaseki on Sunday emerged as the All Progressives Congress’ (APC) governorship candidate for the Sept. 10 election in Edo.

Gov. Aminu Masari of Katsina State, leader of the party’s national delegation that conducted the primary election, announced the results in Benin.

Masari said Obaseki scored 1,618 votes to defeat his 11 other opponents.

He described the election as credible, fair and free and urged the losers and their supporters to close ranks ahead of the crucial governorship election in the state.

Other aspirants are Deputy Gov. Pius Odubu, who polled 471 votes; former minister of state for works, Chris Ogiemwonyi, 137 votes; Mr Ken Imasuagbon, 247 votes; a former governor of the state, Osariemen Osunbor, eight votes and Prof. Ebegue Amadasu, who also polled eight votes.

Similarly, Gen. Charles Airhiabvere (retd) garnered 11 votes, Mr Emmanuel Arigbe-Osula, 10 votes; Mr Austin Emuan, seven votes; Chief Blessing Agbomhere, fives votes, and the only female aspirant, Mrs. Tina Agbarha, got three votes.

Masari said 41 votes were invalid. (NAN)