The Edo House of Assembly on Tuesday approved the suspension of four local government chairmen for alleged diversion of funds and inability to pay staff salaries for two months.

The suspension followed a request letter sent to the house by Gov. Adams Oshiomhole and signed by the Secretary to the State Government, Mr Julius Ihonvbere .

READ ALSO  Embattled Nasarawa State NLC Chairman suspends industrial action

The affected chairmen are: Mr Emmanuel Momoh, Etsako Central Local Government; Mr Victor Enobakhare, Egor Local Government; Mr Osaro Obazee, Oredo Local Government;l and Mr Roland Ibierutonmwen of Orhionmwon Local Government.

According to the letter, the four chairmen contravened the Local Government Act by engaging in illegal employment without going through the Local Government Service Commission.

READ ALSO  Rivers PDP slams APC’s protest ahead of rescheduled re- run poll

Oshiomhole stated in the letter, that the suspension of the four chairmen was to pave way for investigation into the allegations, adding that a panel of inquiry would be constituted to undertake the assignment.

The lawmakers unanimously approved the governor ‘s request.

Meanwhile, the speaker, Mr Victor Edoror said the governor had the power to suspend any local government chairman found wanting.

READ ALSO  Delegates protest withdrawal of power to choose C’ttee chairmen, deputies

He said that the four chairmen stood suspended for two months in the first instance.

Edoror directed the vice chairmen of the affected councils to take over the administration of the local governments.