Fatai Atere, a member of the 1985 Golden Eaglets which won the inaugural FIFA U-16 World Cup is bitter he was invited to come to his United States of America base only to be given a cash gift of ‘’a paltry N2million’’ at the Presidential reception last Thursday.
Atere described the cash awarded to each member of the team as ‘’disappointing and shameful.
“It is disappointing to be honest. After over 30 years and it is only two million naira they gave us. I thought it was the two hundred million naira they initially mentioned but to give us two million after all these years is not right.
“If I knew it would be two million naira, I wouldn’t have left my base in America,” he said.
Atere, who later captained Nigeria the then U-16 World Championship in 1987, however, thanked President Buhari for remembering them.
“I appreciate and thank the President for remembering us after 30 years, I thank him for that. I am also happy to see some of my old teammates as well,” he added.
The players who made history by winning Nigeria its first global title in football include Bella Momoh, Victor Igbinoba, Salisu Nakande, Babatunde Joseph, Nduka Ugbade, Fatai Atere, Binebi Numa, Lucky Agbonsevbafe and Duere Tonworimi.
Other members of the squad are Jonathan Akpoborie, Sani Adamu, Amapakabor Imama, Baldwin Bazuaye, Hillary Adiki, Dele Abubakar, Chukwuma Nwoha and Mohammed Yahaya.
The technical crew led by Sebastain Broderick Imasuen also included Christian Chukwu.
Nigeria won the very first edition of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup, which was then known as the Kodak Under-16 World Cup.

READ ALSO  Yvonne Okoro disappointed in City People Awards