Nigeria Police Force, NPF, for a better coordinated approach to securing the nation’s maritime domain, the Inspector-General of Police, Mohammed Dahiru Abubakar has approved the establishment of a new Police Command called the Maritime Police Command.
The pioneer head of the new establishment, which enjoys the status of a Zonal Command, is Assistant Inspector-General Mark Idakwo.
The Maritime Police Command will be based at Force Headquarters, Abuja, under the operational control of ‘B’ Department.
The emergent Command is a fusion of the Marine Police Command, the Ports Authority Police Command (PAPC), and the Inland Waterways Formation.
The Maritime Police Command is divided into Western Maritime Command, with headquarters in Lagos; the Eastern Maritime Command, with headquarters in Port-Harcourt , Rivers State; and the Marine Command, with headquarters also situated in Lagos.
Each of these subsidiary Commands under the Maritime Police Command is headed by a Commissioner of Police.
The Maritime Police Command, according to a statement issued by the Deputy Force Public Relations Officer, Chief Superintendent of Police Frank Mba, is charged with the responsibility of maintaining law and order and providing adequate security in Nigeria’s ports and harbours.
The new Command is also saddled with the task of tackling contemporary security challenges, such as armed robbery, piracy, kidnapping, gun running and other related crimes in the nation’s creeks, harbours and territorial waterways.
The Police also approved the postings of seven Assistant Inspectors-General to various Police formations in the country.
The officers affected by the new postings are AIG Jonathan Johnson who is posted to head Zone 6, comprising Akwa Ibom, Cross River and Rivers states Police commands, with headquarters at Calabar.
AIG Christopher Dega, now heads Zone 8 – Lokoja, which comprises of Ekiti, Kogi and Kwara states Police commands.
Zone 3, with headquarters in Yola, and comprising of Adamawa, Gombe and Taraba states Police commands, now has AIG Mohammed J. Abubakar as its new head, while AIG Tambari Y. Mohammed is the new AIG Zone 9, composed of Abia, Anambra, Enugu and Imo states Police commands.
Zone 10, with headquarters at Sokoto, and covering Kebbi, Sokoto and Zamfara states Police commands is now headed by AIG Sule Mamman, while Police Academy (POLAC) situated in Wudil, Kano State, now has AIG Adisa Baba Bolanta, as its new Commandant.
Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency, NIMASA, said the three staff it recently disengaged from its services were found to have been illegally employed into the agency by its former estranged Director-General, Patrick Akpobolokemi.
“An administrative investigation conducted by the agency revealed that the employment of the three officers at the twilight of the administration of Patrick Akpobolokemi did not follow due process required for employment into the civil service,” NIMASA’s Head of Public Affairs, Hajia Lami Tumaka has said
She said contrary to speculation in some sections that NIMASA has disengaged 200 staff in its employ, only three persons whose engagement had wholesome irregularities have been asked to leave.
She however did not disclose the identities of the sacked workers.
“Like every Federal Government agency, the Federal Civil Service rules govern engagement and disengagement of officers in NIMASA.
“Media organisations would therefore do well to contact the agency for clarification on these issues, or at least conduct preliminary investigations in order not to mislead unsuspecting members of the public and spread disaffection,” she said.

READ ALSO  Nigeria’s economic reality calls for diversification - Gov Lalong