dogaradogrImminent crisis is looming in the House of Representatives ahead of today’s inauguration of chairmen and deputy chairmen of the 96 standing committees, as some aggrieved All Progressives Congress, APC lawmakers who felt not adequately settled with the composition of committees, are spoiling for a show down with Speaker Yakubu Dogara.
Nigerian Pilot findings revealed that some axe-heads in the current hoopla are keen to go to court to stop the committee inauguration, a case which our source said influenced today’s inauguration, ostensibly to pre-empt the action of the aggrieved members.
It will be recalled that few days after the Speaker of the House had announced the chairmen and deputy chairmen of the House on October 22 on the floor of the House, Hon. Garba Datti Muhammad, representing Sabon Gari Federal Constituency of Kaduna State on the platform of the APC and Hon. Sunday Adepoju representing Ibarapa East/Ido of Oyo State on the platform of APC resigned their committee appointments.
These aggrieved lawmakers had since called on the speaker to take a second look at the list with a view to doing some adjustments.
In order to calm frayed nerves and avoid further crisis rocking the lower chamber, the speaker, last Tuesday, held a familiarisation meeting with all the committee chairmen, deputies and members where he pleaded with some of the aggrieved lawmakers to shield their sword and accept their appointments in good faith.
But it was reliably gathered that despite the fence-mending meeting, some APC lawmakers, who felt they were short-changed in the sharing of the committee appointments, are still adamant and called on the speaker to allocate more committees to the ruling party since they are now in majority.
But the House spokesman, Hon. Abdulrazak Namdas, had called on the aggrieved lawmakers to appreciate the reason they were elected to the National Assembly.
He pointed out that in spite of the argument by these lawmakers, the Committees on Appropriation and Finance, seen as major committees in the House, went to the APC.
“The point should be made that committees by convention, are held by certain zones. We cannot change that now.
“The speaker merely kept the tradition. Members should know that our reason for being here is not to fight over committees.
“As members, we are expected to work in the interest of Nigeria. The APC caucus met and resolved after the speakership election to bury hatchets. I think we should abide by that”, Namdas stated.
Meanwhile, all is set for the formal inauguration of the 96 standing committees by the speaker today.
It would be recalled that in the committee appointments, APC lawmakers got 48 chairmanship slots, PDP got 46, while Social Democratic Party, SDP and All Progressive Grand Alliance, APGA got one slot each.
While some returning lawmakers retained their committees, others were moved to other committees.
Hon. Mohammed Monguno, Nkiruka Onyejeocha and Jones Onyereri retained their previous committees of Agricultural Production and Services, Aviation and Banking and Currency respectively.
Others such as Abdulmumin Jibrin was moved from Finance to Appropriation; Jagaba Adams Jagaba from Drugs, Narcotics and Financial Crimes to Interior; Zakari Mohammed from Media and Public Affairs to Basic Education.
Seven new committees were added to the existing 89, thus bringing the numbers of standing committees to 96.
The new committees are: Agricultural Colleges and Institutions; Basic Education and Services; Delegated Legislation; FCT Judiciary; IDPs, Refugees and Initiatives on North East; Insurance and Actuarial Matters and Tertiary Education and Services.

READ ALSO  North Korea names new defence minister