Federal Government,yesterday inaugurated the Governing Councils of the 12 newly established Federal Universities, naming former Ogun State Governor, Otunba Gbenga Daniel, Chairman, Governing Council of Federal University of Kashere, Gombe State.
Performing the inauguration ceremony on behalf of the federal government, the Minister of Education, Mallam Ibrahim Shekarau, congratulated the newly appointed Governing Council members for their recognition, charging them to be prepared for the demands of their new assignment.
The Minister noted that the establishment of the universities and polytechnics was in fulfillment of the promises by President Goodluck Jonathan in 2010 to transform the education sector in line with the sector’s strategy and action plan, including opening access to tertiary education for the teeming population of Nigerian youths.
“President Jonathan had actually intended to close up some gaps by establishing federal universities and polytechnics in states that hitherto did not have one. Today, that intention has been actualized and we are here inaugurating the Governing Councils of the institutions, which include Federal University, Lokoja in Kogi State; Federal University, Lafia in Nasarawa State; Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State; Federal University, Wukari, in Taraba State.”
Others are Federal university, Dutse-Ma in Kastina; Federal University, Dutse in Jigawa State; Federal University, Ndufu Alike in Ebonyi State; Federal University, Oye-Ekiti in Ekiti State; Federal University, Otuoke in Bayelsa State; Federal University, Birnin- Kebbi in Kebbi State; Federal University, Gusau in Zamfara State; Federal University, Gashua in Adamawa State.
The four new technical institutions are Federal Polytechnic of Oil and Gas, Bonny in Rivers State; Federal Polytechnic, Ile- Oluji in Ondo State, Federal Polytechnic, Ukana in Akwa Ibom State and National Institute of Construction Technology, Uromi in Edo State.
Similarly, a new Board was inaugurated for the National Library of Nigeria and a new Chairman and Pro Chancellor appointed for the University of Ibadan in Oyo State.
Mallam Shekarau stated that the Governing Councils for the universities have been appointed for a four year tenure, while those of the polytechnics and monotechnics are for three year tenure, warning that the visitor to the institution can be dissolved any council found wanting on issues of accountability, transparency and process.

READ ALSO  Federal High Court affirms Ikpeazu as Gov