Governor Abdulfatah Ahmed of Kwara state has forwarded the names of 10 commissioner nominees to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation.
The governor’s request was contained in his message to the House read by the Speaker, Dr Ali Ahmad during Tuesday’s plenary.
The 10 nominees according to the governor’s message were selected from 10 local government areas out of the existing 16 local government areas of the state.
They are; Alhaji Musa Yeketi (Asa) Alhaji Kamaldeen Ajibade (llorin West), Alhaji Kale Ayo (llorin West) , Mr Taiwo Joseph (Ekiti), Mr Demola Baanu (lrepodun) Alhaji lsiaka Garba (Baruten) and Alhaji Mahmud Ajeigbe (Offa)
Others are; Alhaji AbdulRasaq Akorede (llorin East), Mallam Aro Yahaya (lfelodun) and Hajia Funmilayo lsiaka-Oniwa from Moro local government area of the state who happens the be the only female among the nominees.
Alhaji Kamaldeen Ajibade from the llorin West, Alhaji ldris Garuba from Baruten and Alhaji Demola Baanu from lrepodun were members of the dissolved executive council.
The Speaker announced that the governor would send more nominees from the remaining six local government areas and directed the 10 nominees to submit their documentation which must include their CVs, sworn affidavits for non membership of secret cults to the Clerk of the assembly before the close of work on Thursday 15, October.
The 10 nominees were also directed by the Speaker to present themselves for the screening on Tuesday, 20th October. The Speaker requested for questions from interested members of the public for the nominees which should be sent before the screening date.
Dr. Ahmad later announced the setting up of an ad hoc committee headed by the Deputy Speaker, Mr Mathew Okedare who will interact with the nominees before the screening day.
Meanwhile, the new Clerk of the House, Mr Simon Okedare formally assumed duty during Tuesday plenary. The motion for the assumption of duty of the new Clerk was moved by the House Leader, Hassan Oyeleke.
The new Clerk who until his appointment was Permanent Secretary in the state Ministry of Planing and Economic development succeeds Mr Oyetunde Oyeniyi who retired on October 3rd, 2015 .

READ ALSO  Dickson, Alamieyeseigha not sent out of peace meeting — PDP