Rivers State Governor, Nyesom Wike, has urged Local Government, LG, chairmen to give priority attention to security and environmental sanitation.
The governor gave the charge, yesterday, while swearing in 20 caretaker committee chairmen in a ceremony at the Executive Chamber of the Government House, Port Harcourt.
“You have seen the level of kidnapping and other criminal activities in the state. The police and other security agencies are doing their best. You must give them your support, by cooperating with the Divisional Police Officers in your various local government areas,“ he said.
The governor also warned that his administration will not be influenced by ‘Godfatherism‘, as it would not tolerate laxity and any other unacceptable conduct.
He particularly charged the new chairmen of Degema, Akuku Toru and Asari Tofu LGAs to reduce or eliminate the spate of kidnapping along the Emuoha–Kalabari road, or announce their resignation on radio, or be outrightly fired.
The governor said they have only three months to concentrate on security and environmental sanitation and should avoid projects that may not be completed within that time frame.
Wike called on the new chairmen of Port Harcourt, Obio/Akpor and Ikwerre LGAs to support the Rivers State Waste Management Authority, RIWAMA, by keeping the city clean, stressing that he does not want to see overgrown grasses in places like Azikiwe street, Old GRA and parts of Mpogu and Stadium road.
“I don’t want to see grasses, you must employ women to sweep the roads,“ he warned.
He particularly cautioned the chairman of Obio/Akpor to stop the harassment of companies, individuals and seizure of vehicles because it has become an embarrassment to his administration.
The governor assured that he was abreast with current happenings in all the local government areas.
The new CTC chairmen are as follows: Abua/Odual – Mr. Oye Igenewari; Ahoada East – Mr. Ikashi Douglas Umegbewe; Ahoada West – Mr. Enton Iyalla; Akuku Toru – Mr. Rowland Sekibo; Andoni – Hon. Ere Victor; Asari Toru – Mr. Soboma Jackreech; Bonny – Charles Tonye Jumbo; Degema – Tonye Tygar; Eleme- Johnson Obelly Nwogu; Emuoha – Bright Ikonwa; Etche – Ability Nweke; Gokana – Austin Sor; Ikwerre Mr. Samuel Nwanosike; Obio/Akpor – Mr. Bright Amaewhule; Ogu/Bolo – Mr. Isaac Ibiberebupakabo; Okirika – Barr. Opuene Atekebo; Omuma – Prince Opurum; Oyigbo – Alex Ibeawuchi Ernest; PortHarcourt – Sir Sunny Sam Ejekwu Tai – Dr. Mesua Wilson Nwibari;

READ ALSO  NASS: When an amendment becomes a forgery

According to Governor Wike, the nominees for Opobo and Khanna LGAs were still undergoing screening at the House of Assembly.

READ ALSO  Cut travels, waste, not workers salary - Fayose tells Govs