A socio-cultural organization, Nsukka Platform Asaba, has urged the President-elect, General Muhammadu Buhari to uphold the principles of equity, justice and fairness in picking his ministerial nominee for Enugu State.
The group in a statement made available to Nigerian Pilot yesterday in Asaba, specifically appealed to Buhari to pick his ministerial nominee from Enugu North senatorial district (Nsukka Cultural Zone), claiming that the zone has not produced minister since the return of democracy in 1999.
The statement which was signed by Dr. Pius Ike and Dr. Leo Abonyi, Chairman and Secretary of the group respectively, also condemned the alleged assault of the governorship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Barrister Okey Ezea by the National Vice Chairman (South-East) of the party, Chief Emma Enukwu.
Chief Enukwu was reported to have slapped Ezea at a meeting of South-East chieftains of APC in Abuja where the governorship candidate was said to have made a case for Enugu North Senatorial district to produce the minister in the in-coming administration.
The group hailed General Buhari for insisting on appointing only loyal members of his party, APC, with technical competence and integrity into his cabinet, explaining that the disposition has given Nigerians hope that he is poised to fulfill his promise to fight corruption.
“While we in Nsukka Platform Asaba salute him for this stance, we equally urge him to go further and ensure equity, justice and fair play in choosing the right people to occupy the ministerial seats,” it read.
According to the group, only two of the three senatorial districts (Enugu East and West) have been producing ministers since 1999, lamenting that Enugu North produced its last minister in 1979 during the Second Republic, in the person of Chief D.C. Ugwu who was Minister of Health.
“Since the country returned to civilian rule in 1999, the Nsukka people that constitute over 50 per cent of electorate of Enugu State, have not produced a single minister. All the ministers appointed from the state hail from Enugu East and Enugu West Senatorial Districts.
“These ministers include Chief Frank Nweke jnr. and Prof. Bath Nnaji from Enugu East and Chief Dubem Onyia, Mrs Fidelia Njeze and Prof. Chinedu Nebo, the current Minister of Power from Enugu West.
“On this premise therefore, the Nsukka Platform Asaba calls on Gen. Buhari to appoint a technically competent and credible loyal member of the APC from Enugu north. By so doing, Buhari will have proven that his administration is totally against marginalization which has glaringly characterized the appointment of ministers from Enugu State by the past and present administrations in the country. Needless to say that tested and trusted professionals of impeccable character abound in Nsukka land,” it explained.
We’ll not succumb to imposition of Speaker, warn House members-elect
The Adamawa State House of Assembly member-elect representing Mubi South constituency, Mallam Abdulrahaman Abubakar, has re-iterated his colleagues commitment to ensure the emergence of a popular and competent candidate as the Speaker of the 8th House Assembly.
Abubakar who is the chairman of the newly formed Integrity Forum by the House of Assembly members-elect, alleged that there was move by a leading politician to impose a speaker on the house, a development he said they had vowed to reject.
Abubakar who was elected under the platform of APC said that the members of the APC dominated House had resolved to have a Speaker from the Central zone of the state since the governor-elect and his deputy were from the Northern and Southern zones respectively.
“We have a particular person in mind that is good and equal to the task. A political leader in the state is trying to foist somebody on us but we will reject that”, Abubakar said.
He said one of the major roles of the integrity group was to ensure that the House operated in accordance with the constitution of the country.
On a recent appeal by some members-elect to Adamawa state government to sponsor them for an induction course in Abuja, Abubakar said such members were on their own and that what they did was not the collective decision of members-elect.
“Nobody sent them to Government House to solicit for sponsorship; what they did was not our collective decision”, Abubakar said.
The 25 members-elect for Adamawa House of Assembly consist of 22 APC, two PDP and one SDP

READ ALSO  Anambra guber: Police to deploy 21,084 personnel