Bayelsa State Government yesterday swore in the chairman and members of the commission of inquiry into the Southern Ijaw electoral violence at the executive chambers of the Government House, Yenagoa.
Governor Seriake Dickson while inaugurating the 6-man judicial commission of enquiry that would among other things, investigate the violence that occurred before, during and after the December 5 governorship election in the state.
Inaugurating the commission at the Executive Chambers, the governor condemned the extra judicial killings and destruction of properties recorded during the poll.
He charged the commission to leave no stone unturned in its task of identifying the culprits, irrespective of party affiliation, in order to bring the perpetrators to book.
He further stressed that the commission of enquiry is not to witch hunt anyone but to underscore his commitment towards zero tolerance to crime and criminality, and also to ensure that the state remains safe at all times.
Chairperson of the commission, Justice Margaret Akpomiemie, on behalf of the team, expressed gratitude to the governor and called on the public to cooperate with the commission in delivering the mandate given to them.
The members are; Hon. Justice Margaret Akpomiemie as Chairman, Brigadier-General Bob Ake (red), Dr (Mrs) Victoria Abba Tekena, Mrs Martha Akpana, as members while Mr Abraham Lord Ekiamene is to serve secretary.
It will be recalled that the election in Southern Ijaw was postponed to 6th of December due to widespread violence which some thugs unleashed on innocent people of the local government, leading to death of some voters and cancellation of the election by INEC.