Independent Corrupt Practices and other related Offences Commission, ICPC, has ordered eight former governors that served two term of eight years in their various states to produce their asses declaration forms on or before September 30, 2015.
A highly placed source at the commission during the weekend told Nigerian Pilot Sunday that the commission has already started probing the eight immediate past governors over alleged corrupt enrichment to the tune of N850 billion in assets.
Operatives of the commission, we gathered, have been mobilised for the exercise and will kick start the tour of the various states on Monday, as part of the taskforce set up for that purpose.
According to the source, in early August this year, the operatives of the commission wrote secretly to the Code of Conduct Bureau, CCB, and collected the initial assets declaration form of the affected governors before it started investigating them.
He said that the commission now wants the ex-governors to produce the assets declaration forms that they filled in 2007 and 2011 respectively, adding that the commission will compare the contents of the forms with a view to establishing whether they indulged themselves while in office.
In addition, the commission he said will look at the various petitions written against the governors as well as trace property the affected governors have against their names whether directly or through their cronies and take necessary action.
Already, the commission through the various Federal High Courts is embarking on seizure of property confirmed to have been purchased through looted funds.
Further, he hinted that the operatives were mobilised within the week by the chairman of ICPC, Barrister Nta Ekpo, to travel to the affected states and mop up documents that will assist in their investigations.
It would be recalled that the commission had already set up a taskforce to probe eight former governors following petitions written against the former governors.
Some of the affected former governors are Alhaji Rabiu Kwankwaso of Kano State, Chief Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers, Alhaji Ibrahim Shema of Katsina and Sullivan Chime of Enugu State.
The other four embattled former governors on the waiting list according to the source are Mr. Raji Fashola of Lagos State, Godswiil Akpabio of Akwa Ibom State, Martin Elechi of Ebonyi State and Alhaji Sule Lamido of Jigawa State.
The source said that the ICPC was not considering political parties or association in its response to allegations of corruption made against the affected personalities in the petition.
“It is true that we are going after eight former governors. The investigation against four of the former governors of Rivers, Katsina, Kano and Enugu has commenced. “However, the commission has listed four other former governors who are on the waiting list because of petitions against them. They are the immediate past governors of Lagos, Akwa Ibom, Ebonyi and Jigawa States.
“A Special Task Force was set up by the chairman of the commission last week to coordinate the investigation in the states. So we are reopening the petitions through the chairman of the Special Task Force,” the source disclosed.
The probe is coming on the heels of a recent move by the ICPC to move 47 crack detectives to the states and the zones to strengthen them in the fight against graft in the society.
Efforts to reach the Resident Consultant, Media and Events, of the ICPC, Mr. Folu Olamiti, for his reaction proved abortive as all his phones were switch off.
None of the ex-governors could be reached for comment.

Ad Are you a One Minute Man? This Nafdac Approved Solution Would Help you Last 30mins+ with no side effects" Visit: