Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, will on Saturday 20, 2016 conduct 22 of the Court of Appeal-ordered rerun elections across eight states of the federation.
This will mark the climax of the 80 court-ordered elections, which the Commission is to conduct from January to March 2016.
With preparations at top gear to ensure a hitch-free mini general election, INEC will conduct senatorial, federal constituency and state constituency elections across eight states, namely: Benue, Kaduna, Plateau, Niger, Nasarawa, Kogi, Taraba and Imo.
A breakdown of these elections shows that the commission will conduct four senatorial elections, three federal constituency elections and 15 state constituency elections.
The senatorial elections will be conducted in Benue South Senatorial District, Imo North Senatorial District, Kogi Central Senatorial District and Kogi East Senatorial District.
The Federal Constituency elections will hold in Okene/Ogori Magongo Federal Constituency of Kogi State, Lafia/Obi Federal Constituency of Nasarawa State and Kurmi/Sardauna Federal Constituency of Taraba State.
The 15 State Constituency elections will be conducted across Imo, Kaduna, Kogi, Plateau, Niger and Taraba States.
They are:
· Imo: Isiala Mbano, Oru East, and Owerri West;
· Kaduna: Lere West;
· Kogi: Ofu Sc, Ankpa 1, Idah, Dekina 1 and Dekina II (Okura);
· Niger: Suleja;
· Plateau: Langtang South, Pankshin South and Pankshin North;
· Taraba: Ardo Kola and Mbamga.
Meanwhile, the INEC in the Federal Capital Territory office is to present the Register of Voters to contestants and political parties fielding candidates for the chairmanship and councillorship elections on Thursday.
The Resident Electoral Commission for the FCT, Prof. Jacob Jatau, who disclosed this on Wednesday to the Daily Bulletin of INEC, said the presentation, which would take place at 9.30am at the INEC FCT Conference Hall, was in accordance with the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended).