INDEPENDENT National Electoral Commission, INEC, has inaugurated a 15-man committee to review the commission’s 2012-2016 strategic plan and to set targets and road maps for the next four years (2017-2021). According to a news bulletin issued by the commission, the Strategic Plan Review Committee, SPRC, headed by Dr. Mohammed Lecky, national commissioner, has begun work in earnest since it’s inauguration in September 2016 at the commission’s headquarters. The terms of reference of the committee are to undertake a comprehensive audit of the 2012-2016 Strategic Plan and Plan of Action with budgetary alignment; to evaluate strategic issues emanating from the implementation of the 2015 election activities; to assess the impact of the 2012-2016 Strategic Plan of Action on the processes, actions and outcomes of the 2015 general elections based on pre-election day and post-election reviews and reports; to identify threats, weaknesses, gaps, unfinished businesses, opportunities and innovations within the context of current electoral realities and assess their effect on the performance of the commission. The committee is also saddled with the duty of producing draft copies of the finding of the review report on the 2012-2016 Strategic Plan with key recommendations, as well as to support planning, design, development of the follow-on Strategic Plan (2017-2021), including its validation process; to serve as resource persons at the Commission’s retreat; and to conclude the exercise within a period of 30 days. Members of the SPRC include Hon. Abdullahi A. Kaugama, Hon. Olusegun Agba, Prof. Bolade Eyinla, Prof. Mohammed J. Kuna, Chima Duruaku and Paschal Ukaenwe. Others are Omolaja T. Soyeolu, David Asemo, Chidi Nwafor, Mrs. Blessing Obidiegwu, Kola Oyelami, Okechukwu Ndeche (Secretary), EIDS Dr. Otive Igbuzot (consultant), and Dr. Peter Mba (consultant).

READ ALSO  Prayer for Nigeria in distress