The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), in Kano State on Thursday presented Certificate of Return to Governor-elect, Dr Abdullahi Ganduje, his Deputy, Prof. Hafizu Abubakar and members of the National Assembly.

The National Assembly members who received their certificates included Senators elect, Rabi’u Kwankwaso (APC-Kano Central) Kabiru Gaya (Kano South) and Barau Jibrin (Kano North).

The 24 members-elect of the House of Representatives also received their certificates of return at the Centre for Research and Democratic Studies, Mambayya House, Kano.

READ ALSO  Gov Emmanuel restates commitment to steady power supply

The Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Alhaji Husaini Pai, congratulated the recipients for their victory at the polls.

He commended the courage of all those who lost the elections and conceded defeat.

The National Commissioner in charge of Kano, Jigawa and Katsina states, Amb. Ahmed Wali, commended corps members and all those who served as ad-hoc staff for their patriotism during the elections.

READ ALSO  IPAC felicitates with Nigerians

He noted that the introduction of PVCs and card readers had checkedmated incidences of rigging and other electoral malpractices during the 2015 general elections in the country.

He said the presentation of the certificate of return to the elected political office holders was aimed at confirming who the winners of the election were.

READ ALSO  Unpaid salaries: We risk death, Labour alerts Buhari

The Governor-elect, Ganduje promised to complete all ongoing projects initiated by Gov. Rabi’u Kwankwaso.

He commended the PDP gubernatorial candidate, Malam Salihu Takai, for calling him personally to congratulate him even before the election result was announced.