Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC and the Returning Officer, RO, Benjamin Ozumba have differed on the number of voters who are affected in the Saturday’s rerun election in Abia State.
Nigerian Pilot reports that the figures published by INEC as the number of registered voters is about 4000 less than the number declared by the Returning Officer before declaring the election inconclusive two weeks ago.
According to the figures released by INEC in Umuahia on Tuesday, the Commission gave the number of registered voters as 175,537 but the RO had said that the number of voters for the rerun is 179,224.
INEC also published nine local government areas including Aba North and South, Ikwuano, Ohafia, Osisioma and Ugwunagbo as the areas for the rerun. Others are Umuahia North and South and Umunneochi.
The governorship rerun will also take place in 53 Registration Areas and 299 polling Units. Osisioma has the highest number of registered voters of 33,978 in 34 polling units followed by Aba South with 32, 366 in 51 polling units. The rerun in Umuahia South LGA will be conducted in 43 polling units and 24,997 registered voters, while Ikwuano has 35 polling units and 19, 817 registered voters. Aba North, Ohafia, Ugwunagbo, Umuahia North and Umunneochi have 14619; 8752; 15688; 14776; 10544; registered voters respectively.
Also, the rerun for the House of Assembly will be conducted in three wards in Umuahia North local government area including Nkwoegwu, Afugiri and Umuhu.
The rerun will take place in 26 polling units and 10,555 as number of registered voters. Umuhu has the largest number of registered voters of 5,384, followed by Afugiri with 4,829 and Nkwoegwu with one polling units and 338 registered voters.
In Umuahia North,the elections will hold at Nkwoegwu, Afugiri and Umuhu.Aba North will have elections at Industrial area, St. Eugenes by Okigwe, Uratta, Umuola and Umuogor with a total of 24 polling units. In Aba South, the elections will hold at a total of 51 Polling Units, including Eziukwu, Asa, Enyimba, Ngwa Road, Ohazu 1 and 2, Igwebuike, Ekeoha, Gloucester and Aba Town Hall.
Ikwuano will have Oloko 1 and 2, Ibere 1 and 2, Oboro 1,2 and 4,Ariam and Usaka, while in Ohafia,elections will take place at Ndielu, Ndi-etiti and Ndi Agbo Nkporo,and Ohafor and Okamu Ohafia with a total of 26 Polling Units. At Osisioma,a total of 34 Polling Units will hold elections at Amator,Amavo,Amaitolu/Mbutu/Umuojima,Amasato and Uratta, while Ugwunagbo has 29 Polling Units with elections holding at Ward seven and nine.
Umuahia South will see elections hold at 43 Polling Units of Omaegwu, Ohiaogha, Ahiaukwu 1 and 2, old Umuahia and Ubakala A and B,including Nsirimo. In Umunneochi, elections are expected to take place at 25 Polling Units in Umuaku and Umuchieze 2.
The Head of Department, Voter Education and Publicity of INEC, Edwin Enabor, urged Abians who did not participate in the last elections to come out en masse and complete the task of selecting who becomes the governor of the state for the next four years.

READ ALSO  Buhari has the right not to speak to Nigerians - Femi Adesina