The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC is to conduct 78 re-run elections this year. The re-run elections which will take place across the country are based on verdicts issued by the Court of Appeal.
Most of the court verdicts were given in December 2015 while a few others were ordered in November 2015, and are expected to hold within 90 days or 60 days as ordered by the Appellate Court.
A breakdown of the elections indicates that the Commission will conduct 10 Senatorial elections, 12 State Constituency elections and 37 State Assembly elections.
Others are 17 Federal Constituency elections and 2 Governorship re-run elections, subject to the verdict of the Supreme Court.
Further details indicated that, Rivers State, with 38 re-run elections, top the number of states with petitions arising from the conduct of the elections involving one, for Governorship, three for Senatorial, 12 for Federal House of Representatives, and 22 for State Assembly polls.
Rivers is closely followed by Abia state with eight re-runs; one for senatorial and seven for state assembly polls.
The rest where the re-run will take place are Akwa Ibom, with Imo, Taraba and Gombe states among others making the list.

READ ALSO  Marginalisation allegations: Alarmists want political appointments – Osinbajo