International Table Tennis Federation, ITTF have confirmed Team Nigeria as one of the 16 countries that will participate in the men’s team event of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games in Brazil.
According to the list released by the ITTF, Team Nigeria will fly Africa’s flag in the event alongside world and Asia champions, China, as well as Germany, United States, Australia and hosts Brazil.
Others listed include Japan, hong Kong, Portugal, Korea Republic, France, Sweden, Austria, Poland, Chinese Taipei and England.
This means the trio of Segun Toriola, Aruna Quadri and Bode Abiodun (who is the third highest ranked Nigerian in the world) have qualified to play in the singles event at the Olympics.
However, Nigeria’s female team will play no part in the women’s team event as Egypt will represent the continent alongside, China, Germany, United States, Australia and hosts Brazil.
Others are Japan, Singapore, Hong Kong, Korea Republic, Chinese Taipei, Korea DPR, Netherlands, Romania, Poland and Austria.