Professor Attahiru Jega’s tenure as the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has come to an end.

The former INEC boss, who took over from Professor Maurice Iwu, assumed office on June 8, 2010 during the former President Goodluck Jonathan’s administration.

Professor Jega officially handed over leadership to the commission’s National Commissioner, Ambassador Mohammad Wali, on Tuesday.

Ambassador Wali hails from Sanyima town in Tambuwal Local Government Area of Sokoto State, north-west Nigeria.

Before his appointment as INEC National Commissioner, Ambassador Wali was an Associate Professor at the Department of Political Science, Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto and Chief Executive Officer, Development Strategies International (DSI).

He is a member of various committees of INEC and the Chairman of the Tenders Board.

However, he would be acting as the INEC Chairman till the end of his tenure in August 11, 2015.