Former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Professor Attahiru Jega, has been appointed to head an advisory committee to revive the educational sector in Sokoto, Kebbi and Zamfara States.
Jega, who hails from Kebbi State, will work with six other professors from the zone and will advise governors of the three states on how to fix the myriad of problems facing the sector, especially at the tertiary education level.
Presenting a report of the committee in Sokoto to Governors Aminu Waziri Tambuwal, Abdulaziz Yari and Abubakar Bagudu of Sokoto, Zamfara and Kebbi respectively, Jega said time has come for all stakeholders in the three states to close rank and collectively face the challenges.
He said there was need to reposition institutions of higher learning in the three states that make up the old Sokoto State to enable them operate according to their core mandates.
Among other recommendations, Jega stressed the need for improved funding, reinvigorated training and promotion of exchange programmes among institutions in the three states.
The committee also advised the three states to establish a joint Education Tax Fund in the mould of the federal government funded TETFUND and revive the former remedial school to be established in one of the states to prepare students for higher studies.
Receiving the report on behalf of his colleagues, Governor Yari said even though Sokoto has already declared a state of emergency on education, both Zamfara and Kebbi will follow suit.
He said the three governors would liaise with their various state Houses of Assembly and commissioners of justice to review the laws that established the institutions.
“We will pass the recommendations to the attorney-generals to look into them with a view to reviewing these laws. We will also strive to formulate all the requisite policies to make these higher institutions function effectively.
“We will also allocate nothing less than 35 percent of our annual budgets to the education sector,” he added.
Other members of the committee include former Vice Chancellors of Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Professors Riskuwa Shehu and Tijjani Bande. The rest are Professors Zayyanu Umar, Lawal Bilbis and Umar Chafe.

READ ALSO  Justice Ministry recovers over $18.5bn looted funds