In line with plans to ensure a smooth transition between the outgoing and incoming Federal Government, both the Transition and Inauguration Committees met yesterday to discuss the activities that will mark the ceremony.
Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim and co-chair, former governor of Bayelsa State, Timipre Sylva, jointly briefed State House correspondents after the meeting held at the State House Banquet Hall.
The two committees, according to Anyim, work independent of each other, but interface at some points.
The inauguration committee is structured to be a joint committee of the present administration and incoming administration and is chaired by Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim for the present administration and former governor of Bayelsa State, Timipre Sylva for the incoming administration.
On Jonathan’s administration side, Anyim Pius Anyim is the (Chairman); members are Chief of Defence, Air Chief Marsall Alex Badeh; Ministers of Federal Capital Territory, Bala Mohammed; Water Resources, Sarah Ochekpe; Aviation, Osita Chidoka; Culture, Tourism and National Orientation, Edem Duke; Lands, Housing and Urban Development, Akon Ayakenyi; Foreign Affairs, Aminu Wali; Interior, Abba Moro; Office of National Security Adviser, Bello Fadile; IGP Solomon Arase; Minister of State Defence, Col. Austin Akobundu (rtd); Commander Brigades of Guards, Brig. Gen. A. B. Omozoje and Mrs. Ibukun Odusote; Permanent Secretary, Presidency (Office of the Secretary to Government of the Federation).
Members of the committee representing incoming government are Timipre Sylva (chairman), while members included Chief Pius Akinyelure, Mrs. Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Ms. Sharon Ikeazor, Prof. Tony Anwuka, Alhaji Kawu Baraje, Senator John Shagaya, Hadiza Bala Usman, Babagana Kingibe, Ismaila Isa Funtua, Senator Binta Masi Garba, Engr. Babachir Lawal and Hon. Samson Osagie.
The SGF further told journalists that “the mandate of the committee is to draw up programmes of activities for the inauguration ceremony, arrange invitations and accommodation for foreign and local dignitaries, organise approved programme of activities, draw up budget for the programme of activities and co-opt into subcommittees persons that may be necessary to assist in the discharge of activities.
“The inauguration has had two meetings thus far. The purpose of this press briefing is to present the programme to the public, seek their understanding, support and participation in the 2015 presidential inauguration.
“The committee has planned a one week programme of activities each of which is as important as the other. These include press briefing, Jumat prayers, inter-denominational church service, inauguration dinner, swearing-in ceremony, launch immediately after the swearing-in ceremony and a gala night.
“We have accordingly created sub-committees to focus on each activity. The co-chairmen and members of the sub-committees may now or later take their turns in briefing the public on their activities,” he said.