Kaduna State House of Assembly yesterday screened and confirmed nominee for the State Independent Electoral Commission, SIECOM, Chairperson, Dr. Mrs. Saratu Binta Dikko Audu.
The Assembly at its yesterday’s plenary sitting presided over by the Speaker, Honourable Aminu Shagali also screened alongside the Chairperson other six commissioners of the electoral body.
The nominees confirmed to the House that they were not card carrying members of any political party.
SIECOM Commissioners screened included: Hassan Mohammed, Bitrus Edward Gwadah, Rilwanu Adamu Yahaya, Nkom Andrew Andarawus, Mrs. Safiya Umar Balarabe and Ahmad Nuhu Bammalli.
Speaking with Assembly Correspondents shortly after the plenary, Chairman of the House Committee on Information, Honourable Nuhu Goroh Shadalafiya commended the caliber of persons nominated by Governor Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai to run the affairs of the electoral umpire in the state.
He expressed the hope that with the vast experience the persons will bring to fore in the forthcoming local government elections, it will be credible, free and fair.
According to him, “Kaduna State stands to gain from their wealth of experience, their commitment. None of them is a card carrying member of any political party. They confirmed to us that they are not card carrying members of any party.
“Honestly speaking, Governor El-Rufai made wide consultations and wise choice in bringing these personalities on board to serve.
“My candid advice to them is that they should know that all eyes are on them as Kaduna people look at them for credible, transparent, free and fair election,” Shadalafiya stated.