The Kano State House of Assembly on Tuesday cleared the 13 nominees for appointment as commissioners and members of the state executive council.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the list of the nominees was sent to the House for screening by Gov. Abdulllahi Ganduje last week.

The House granted approval to the governor to appoint 20 special advisers, as well as the appointment of Alhaji Sani Gabasawa as Director General, Kano state Pension Trust Funds.

READ ALSO  No selective justice in fight against corruption in Nigeria ---Odigie-Oyegun

The 13 nominees had earlier appeared in the chamber of the House, where they answers questions by the legislators.

The nominees cleared by the House include outgoing NUJ President, Malam Mohammed Garba and ALGON Chairman, Alhaji Murtala Garo.

READ ALSO  Man remanded for beating judge 

Others are Alhaji Nasiru Gawuna, Alhaji Usman Riruwai, Dr Faruk Ibrahim, Dr Ali Makoda and Alhaji Haruna Lambu.

The rest are Prof. Kabiru Dandago, Dr Kabiru Getso, Hajiya A’isha Bello, Zubaida Lawan, Haruna Nagoma and Rabiu Bako.

Speaking shortly after a closed session, the Speaker of the House, Alhaji Kabiru Alhassan, said the House expressed satisfaction with the calibre of the nominees, considering their pedigree in various human endeavours.

READ ALSO  Humanitarian crisis: 7.7m people in need of assistance in N/East - UN

He said the House approved the nominees because of their competence, which would in turn, enable Gov. Ganduje to work with capable hands in moving the state forward.