Six executives of the Central Bank of Nigeria, CBN, and others being prosecuted by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, over N8billion mutilated currency recycling fraud, are to remain in prison custody until June 15, 2015.
The CBN officials include Patience Okoro Eye, Afolabi Olufemi Johnson, Ilori Adekunle Sunday, Kolawole Babalola, Olaniran Muniru Adeola and Fatai Adedokun Yusuf.
Justice Ayo Emmanuel of the Federal High Court, Ibadan, yesterday adjourned to June 15 for ruling on the bail application brought by the accused persons.
During yesterday’s sitting, counsel to the EFCC, Rotimi Jacobs, SAN, prayed the court not to grant the accused persons bail as they were capable of interfering with the case.
He also told the court that some of the accused persons had threatened witnesses in the case who are staff of the apex bank, prompting the bank to transfer such staff.
However, counsel to the first accused, A. Lawal prayed the court to grant bail to his client, assuring that he would be available to face his trial.
The same argument was canvassed by counsel to other accused persons who prayed the court to grant bail on liberal terms.
After listening to the submissions of counsel, Justice Emmanuel adjourned to June 15 for ruling.
In a similar development, Jacobs also prayed the court to refuse three former staff of CBN and two staff of Sterling Bank bail.

READ ALSO  Agency sensitises communities against waste, open defecation in Jigawa