Nigeria’s divided Professional football players’ unions has finally acceded to superior reasons and consented to a road map that will lead to a united body which will better protect the players and the game as well as leading to election of new officials to run the body.
A new transition committee has been set up with Harrison Jalla serving as the Chairman. It has prominent names like Dahiru Sadi who was heading the rival body as the Vice Chairman and Austin Popo as the secretary.
Serving as member are celebrated folks like Larry Kubeinje, Ikechukwu Enwezor, Chikelue Iloenyosi and Chief Idowu Otubusin.
However, to effect a smooth transition, Jalla disclosed that an election committee has been put in place which has Barrister Isaac Danladi as the Chairman with Evangelist Joseph Enaguna a former international serving as the Vice Chairman.
Other members are former international goalkeeper Emmanuel Babayaro, Barrister Okey Obi, Tajudeen Disu, Idris Musa, Moses Effiong, Edema Fuludu and celebrated television journalist, Effiong Nyong.
Barrister Belo Aideloje will serve as the Secretary while Managing Editor, Olajide Fashikun is joined by Pastor Taribo West and Pastor Onyebuchi Abia as members.
The transition and electoral committees will be inaugurated on the 17th June in Lagos in consonance with the players’ union reconciliation road map drawn up by the concerned football stakeholders group led by former winger and Leventis United FC of Ibadan mercurial player, Clement Temile.
Temile had championed the ongoing process to merge NANF and APFON as a united front for the sake and interests of Nigerian players current and retired.

READ ALSO  NFF dares NASS, insists on new offer for Keshi