National Working Committee, NWC meeting of the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, will today determine whether or not the party can resolve its internal wranglings and give Nigerians the desired positive change the party promised during the electioneering period.
Nigerian Pilot gathered that the party will address several issues at the meeting which if not properly handled, could spell doom for it.
The party’s caucus would first determine the fate of its national chairman, Chief John Odigie-Oyegun, as some members of the party are calling on the Edo-born politician to resign or face shameful exit from the highest party seat.
Odigie-Oyegun has been accused of failing to stop Bukola Saraki and Yakubu Dogara’s political gimmicks leading to their emergence as Senate President and Speaker of the House of Assembly, respectively against the party’s preferred choices of Ahmed Lawan and Femi Gbajabiamila.
It was gathered that most of the APC governors, some members of the National Working Committee, NWC and party elders are unhappy that Odigie-Oyegun allowed the crisis to fester, most especially when he (Odigie-Oyegun) again delayed in sending the list of APC nominees for principal offices in the Senate and the House, leading to the emergence of Senator Ali Ndume as the majority leader, also against the party’s wish.
As it is now, the party leaders are divided on whether to retain Odigie-Oyegun or dump him.
The National Assembly crisis is already shaking the party and some of its leaders have accused Oyegun of being indecisive or afraid to take the right decision, and that he has no backbone or self-respect. “When he should move, he sits down. When he should talk, he is mute. When he should make a decision, he sleeps and after finally making a decision, he takes days to implement something that could be done in minutes.
Another issue the APC will be dealing with at today’s meeting is the accusation against Senate President Bukola Saraki of allegedly lying that APC forwarded its principal officers to the Senate after the party’s zonal caucuses met to nominate their candidates.
It would be recalled that APC leadership had written to the Senate to nominate Ahmed Lawan as Senate Majority Leader, George Akume as Deputy Majority Leader, Olusola Adeyeye as Chief Whip and Abu Ibrahim Deputy Chief Whip, but last Thursday, Saraki announced Ali Ndume as Majority Leader, Bala Na’Allah as Deputy Majority Leader and Francis Alimikhena as Deputy Chief Whip after the various APC Senate caucuses nominated them.

READ ALSO  120 repatriated Britons arrive home after surviving Nepal quake