All Progressives Congress, APC lawmakers in the House of Representatives, have dragged the Speaker, Hon. Yakubu Dogara, to court over the lingering leadership crisis.
In the suit with file no, FHC/ABJ/CS/625/2015 before the Federal High Court Abuja, Hon Abubakar Lado Abdullahi (APC, Niger) and Hon. Olajide Abdul Jimoh (APC, Lagos) asked the court to grant an order restraining the Speaker, Yakubu Dogara; Deputy Speaker, Yussuf Lasun; Clerk of the House, Sani Muhammed Omolori from preventing the announcement of the list of principal officers forwarded by the APC to the Speaker as representatives of the party.
In the originating summon served on the defendants last Thursday, July 16, 2015, the APC lawmakers asked the court to determine whether Section 14 of the Nigerian Constitution (as amended) on Federal Character applies to the internal workings of the National Assembly and in particular, the House of Representatives with respect to the appointment of principal officers and in particular, the positions of Majority Leader, Deputy Majority Leader, Majority Chief Whip, and Majority Deputy Chief Whip.
After its inauguration on June 9, 2015, the House had been preoccupied by internal crisis among APC lawmakers on who should fill the four principal offices due to the APC.
The House had gone into a forceful break on June 25, 2015 after lawmakers engaged in a free-for-all on the floor over the refusal of the Speaker to read the party’s nomination letter.
In the nomination letter dated June 23, 2015 the APC had asked the Speaker to announce Femi Gbajabiamila (South-West) as the House Leader; Alhassan Ado Doguwa (North-West) as Deputy Leader; Mohammed Monguno (North-East) as the House Whip; and Pally Iriase (South-South) as the Deputy Chief Whip.
It would be recalled that the Speaker had indicated his interest to announce the APC principal officers when some APC young professionals visited his office on Tuesday, July 14, 2015.
According to him, “We will announce the remaining four principal officers by the time we reconvene.”

READ ALSO  APC chieftains storm Imo today