AS FORMER Acting National
Chairman of the Peoples
Democratic Party, PDP, Dr.
Haliru Bello Mohammed,
emerges new chairman of the
party’s Board of Trustees, BoT,
there are indications that the
substantive occupants of the
two plum jobs will be named
in August.
This position is buttressed
by the fact that the tenure of
Mohammed as BoT Chairman
in acting capacity will last
for three months. The same
applies to Prince Uche
Secondus, who took over from
the former party chairman,
Adamu Mu’azu in acting
Mohammed was named
acting chairman of the party’s
BoT on Monday night in Abuja
at a meeting attended by
President Goodluck Jonathan.
He replaces Chief Tony
Anenih who resigned from
the office last week, following
defeat of the PDP in the justconcluded
general elections.
Deputy Senate President,
Ike Ekweremadu, who briefed
State House correspondents
after the meeting, said that
Mohammed would act for the
period that Secondus would
be in office.
He said the PDP would
likely meet at a later date
to decide on the election of
both the substantive National
Chairman and the BoT
Chairman of the party.
But the Secretary of the BoT,
Alhaji Walid Jibrin, was more
definite as he revealed that
both officers would be in office
for the period of two to three
months after which the party
would elect the substantive
Jubrin told journalists
that the position of the BoT
chairman had been offered to
President Jonathan but he was
not ready to assume the role at
this time.
He said: “We have decided
to have the position of acting
chairman for a period of
two to three months only
when we will sit and elect
the substantive chairman of
BoT. By that time, we are also
going to elect the substantive
national chairman. So, this is a
very temporary arrangement.”
Jibrin disclosed that
President Jonathan declined
to have the position of the
chairman of the BoT “right
Among those present
at the meeting were Vice
President Namadi Sambo,
Senate President David Mark,
Deputy Senate President
Ike Ekweremadu, Anenih,
Jibrin, Mohammed, Prof.
Jerry Gana, Senator Ahmed
Makarfi, Senator Ibrahim
Mantu, Prof. Tunde Adeniran,
Mrs. Josephine Anenih, Mrs.
Kema Chikwe, Senator Hope
Uzodinma, and Hajia Zainab

READ ALSO  NUT tasks states on primary education funding