After declaring that the position of three leagues representatives at Nigeria Football Federation, NFF, has expired, the hierarchy of the country’s football body has finally declared that the tenure of Chairmen of Nigeria National League, NNL, Nigeria Nation-wide league, NNWL and Nigeria Women Football League, NWFL is still in place.
Nigerian Pilot Sports exclusively gathered that the tenure of NNL Boss Emeka Inyama, NNWL Ahmed Kawu and NWFL Chairperson Dilichukwu will officially expire whenever their leagues decide to hold another congress later this year.
An impeccable source within the Glasshouse informed our correspondent that the three leagues leaders have been told to continue to discharge their duties despite earlier official statement by NFF that their tenure had expired last week.
“How can you go on air or to the media and declare that one’s tenure is over just because of an statement by one person. Things are not done that way. The league boards elected their chairmen and they are the ones that have the right to dissolve them.
“And so, NFF recognized this and quickly called the persons concerned to explain things to them. Not that their tenure has actually expired,” the source added
An affirmation to the fact that NFF has rescinded on its earlier statement to stop the trio from functioning as NFF Board members was exemplified at the weekend when NNL headed by Inyama went ahead with Super four competition put together for top four finishers at the just concluded NNL season.
Meanwhile, a board member of NFF has been accused of approaching a conventional court over certain issues which this medium could not immediately obtain as at the time of filling this report.
Chairmen of State football Associations who stood behind the current NFF board when it emerged last year are said to be equally divided on recent developments emanating from the country’s football house with some willing to turn down moves by NFF hierarchy to pacify them with a weeklong London trip.

READ ALSO  Man City surge ahead with £24m bid for Arjen Robben