The Nigeria Women Premier League will commence its 2015/2016 season on February 20, 2016.
In a statement, the board’s secretary Emmanuel Adesanya listed the guidelines for the participating clubs and outlined its activities for the season calendar and confirmed the second tier league will restart a week later.
“The Secretariat of the Nigeria Women Football League has released the comprehensive programme of activities for the year 2016, and fixing February 20 as commencement date for the league,” said Adesanya.
“The Women Premier League will begin on 20th February while the Professional League will commence on 27th February.
“Collections of Registration materials are already on and would end on 31st of January, 2016, with the returning of all registration materials slated for 12th February.
According to Adesanya, the inspection of various stadia would be conducted between 13th – 17th February and the season will be concluded on August 27, while the Super Four competition will hold September 24.
The NWFL scribe also announced that 14 clubs will be eligible to participate in women elite division for 2015/2016 league season, while 13 teams will compete in the second tier.
He ordered all participating teams to offset their outstanding bills for the last season to be eligible for registrations for the new season.
Rivers Angels retained the Nigeria Women Premier League title, while Abia Angels emerged winner of the Nigeria Professional Women League.

READ ALSO  FIFA U-20 Women World Cup: Away victories boost for Falconets, Princesses