The highly anticipated MTV Africa Music Awards went down over the weekend with Nigerian entertainers clinching most of the big awards of the night.
Durban International Convention Centre, Kwa Zulu Natal, South Africa, was the venue for the gigantic night which brought to fore Africa’s celebrated entertainment gurus, whose songs have given the African music scene a new face.
The dynamic duo, P-Square, Flavour, Seyi Shay thrilled their fans and viewers with exhilarating performances which only brought more glory to their names.
Whilst it was not just a Nigerian affair, Nigerian acts stole the show reinstating their position as the giant of entertainment in Africa, by winning most of the awards.
Nigeria won seven awards, including Best Male Act, Best Female Act, Evolution Award, Best New Act, Song of the Year, Collaboration of the Year, and Best Group by Davido, Yemi Alade, D’Banj, Patoranking, Mavins, AKA and Burna Boy, and P-Square respectively.
One of the highlights of the event was D’Banj calling on Don Jazzy to join him on stage while collecting his evolution award. Dbanj beat music stars 2face, Asa, Black Cofee, Chameloen, Fally Ipupa, HHP, Samini and P-square.
The MAMA ‘Evolution’ award honours established artistes who have made an indelible mark on African and global music culture, taken African music to new territories around the world, pushed the boundaries of creativity, and shaped the soundscape of contemporary Africa.
D’banj dedicated his award to his erstwhile business partner and producer, Don Jazzy, with whom he began his journey as an entertainer under the defunct Mo’Hits Records.
“God bless you Don Jazzy. This award is dedicated to D’banj and Don Jazzy,” D’banj said in an emotion-laded acknowledgement speech.
Another great spectacle of the night was the pronouncement of “Looking for my Johnny” singer, Yemi Alade who was proclaimed Best Female Act of the year.
The artiste who could not contain her excitement took to her Instagram handle to express her joy.
Yemi Alade said it took the intervention of her manager Taiye Aliyu and the Psquare brothers to realise It was actually her name that was being called to receive the Best Female Act award.
“yemialade [email protected] my manager told me stand up like three times; it’s like I had forgotten my OWN NAME?…and then the mentors @rudeboypsquare @peterpsquare reminded me that I needed to go pick the award…lmaooo. There is no way I could have forgotten my sister @iamseyishay @vanessamdee @bucie,” she posted.
Other winners of night include; Best Male: Davido, Best Group: P-Square, Best New Act Transformed by Absolut: Patoranking, Best Hip Hop: Cassper Nyovest
Best Collaboration: AKA, Burna Boy, Da LES & JR: ‘All Eyes On Me’,Song of the Year: Mavins: ‘Dorobucci’, Best Live: Diamond Platnumz,Video of the Year: ‘Nafukwa’ – Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw,Best Pop & Alternative: Jeremy Loops, Best Francophone: DJ Arafat, Best Lusophone, Ary; Personality of the Year: Trevor Noah, MAMA Evolution: D’Banj, Best International: Nicki Minaj, Artist of the Decade: P-Square MTV Base Leadership Award: Saran Kaba Jones and S’Bu Mavundla.
Meanwhile, Ghanaian nominees Sarkodie, Stonebwoy and Fuse ODG failed to win any award at this year’s event.
Sarkodie, who was nominated for the Best Male award, lost out to Nigeria’s Davido while Nigeria’s Patoranking beat Stonebwoy to the Best New Act award.
South Africa’s Jeremy Loops beat UK-based Ghanaian musician Fuse ODG to the Best Pop & Alternative award.

READ ALSO  Veteran German composer James Last dies at 86